Overbust Corset – Part 1

This started out of a combination of boredom, a desire to work on some corset making skills and a desire to make use of a pretty gold and pink brocade fabric I bought as a remnant a few years back.

GoldButterflyBrocade

I made my first corset for my costume for halloween just gone, part of a steampunk Dorothy outfit. It came out pretty good but there’s always room for improvement.

Steampunk Dorothy Costume

Steampunk Dorothy Costume

The first corset was designed to go over an undershirt so I didn’t do a lining on it (just two layers of duck canvas core and a top decorative layer) and it the top of the neckline went straight across the bustline. For the new one, which will be a stand alone piece of outerwear I wanted to go for a much higher sweetheart neckline, fully line the corset and make a lacing panel for the back.

So that’s the plan but it’s a long way down the line.

Step 1 was drafting the pattern. The pattern I used was this one. Sidney Eileen is a great resource for beginner corset makers and the method I’ll be using is entirely hers.

Next step was adjusting the pattern to my measurements, for which I used the method here. I have a feeling I’m going to need to make some changes to the pattern so for the first mock up I traced the pattern from the draft.

First Pattern Draft

I started this a few weeks back so I had already drafted out the pattern and cut out a mock up from some plain white duck canvas. This weekend’s project was putting together the mock up, which I’ve almost completed. I just need to add a zip to the front for a mock up busk, add some grommets at the back  for lacing and it will be ready for the first fitting. Progress 🙂

Mock up 1

Leave a comment